Graduate Student News and Awards

Cameron Day received a GGI Internship for 2023-2024. He will be working with the Civil Commitment Working Group.

Donghyun Kang received the Judge’s Choice award from UChicago MindByte 2023 for his poster presentation, “Limited Diffusion of Scientific Knowledge Forecasts Collapse.” 

Yuchen Yang received the 2023 Herbert Blumer Award for best graduate student paper from the Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction.

Congratulations to Lauren Beard on being named an ASA Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Grants (ASA DDRIG) Research Scholar. See the announcement here.

Lauren Beard and Ángela Zorro Medina received grants from the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy. Lauren won the Robert K. Merton Award for the project "The Transition Shock: Emancipating into State-Defined Adulthood" and Ángela won an award for the project "The Effects of Anti-Gang Laws on Crime and Inequality."

Congratulations to Pranathi Diwakar, who won the Division of the Social Sciences' 2023 Saller Prize for most outstanding dissertation of the year!

Congratulations to Theodora Hurley, who received the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for her project "Understanding Relationships between Sexuality and Health through Bisexual Health Disparities."

Jacy Reese Anthis published an opinion piece in The Hill calling for an AI rights movement. 

Ariel Azar has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Purdue University.

Lauren Beard wrote an article for WBEZ/NPR: “How Some Therapists are Helping Patients Heal by Addressing Structural Racism.”

Anjanette Chan-Tack has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Northeastern University.

Pranathi Diwakar has a 2022 article in Social Forces: “Placing Caste: Spatialization, Urban Segregation, and Musical Boundary Making.”

Peter Fugiel has accepted a position as National Science Foundation Fellow at Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations.

Reyna Hernandez is a 2022-2023 Pozen Center for Human Rights Doctoral Fellow.

Wan-Zi Lu has accepted a position as Assistant Professor of Sociology at SUNY-Stony Brook.

XY Ma has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Nanyang Technological University.

Johanna Oh has accepted a postdoctoral position as a Mortimer Spiegleman Fellow at the Harvard University Center for Population and Development Studies.

Grey Pierce has accepted a consultant position at Bain & Company. 

Allison Reed has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Washington University in Saint Louis. She will hold a postdoctoral fellowship there for 2023-2024.

Allison Reed has a 2022 article in Social Science and Medicine: “Mental Health, Availability to Participate in Social Change, and Social Movement Accessibility.”

Allison Reed has a forthcoming article in Mobilization: "Repertoires of Care and Activist Sustainability in U.S. Social Justice Organizing."

Brandon Sward reflected on the Club Q shooting and “Growing Up Queer in Colorado” in High Country News

Nicolás Torres-Echeverry has a 2023 article in Theory & Society: “Social Media, Meet Old Politics: Preservation and Innovation in Colombian Presidential Elections, 2010-2018.”

Kailey White, Betsy Priem, and Professor Geoff Wodtke have a 2022 article in Science Advances: “Concentrated Poverty, Ambient Air Pollution, and Child Cognitive Development.”

Chris Williams received a 2023-2025 ABD/University of Chicago Doctoral Fellowship in Law & Society.

Yuhao Zhuang has accepted a position as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Society and Organizations Institute at HEC Paris.

Matt Borus received the Outstanding Graduate Student Paper award from the ASA Section on Disability and Society for his paper, “Dispersed Organizing Before the Internet: The Case of the Disability Rag.” 

Karlyn Gorski received the 2022 Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prize for Excellence in Teaching from the University of Chicago.

Johanna Oh received a Poster Award for her paper “Educational Expansion and Stratification in the Informal Market” at the 2022 Population Association of America annual meeting.

Betsy Priem received the National Institute of Social Sciences Dissertation Grant Award for 2022.