job congratulations uchicago.jpg

Congratulations to Pranathi Diwakar, who won the Division of the Social Sciences' 2023 Saller Prize for most outstanding dissertation of the year!

Congratulations to Theodora Hurley, who received the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for her project "Understanding Relationships between Sexuality and Health through Bisexual Health Disparities."

Jacy Reese Anthis published an opinion piece in The Hill calling for an AI rights movement. 

Ariel Azar has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Purdue University.

Lauren Beard wrote an article for WBEZ/NPR: “How Some Therapists are Helping Patients Heal by Addressing Structural Racism.”

Anjanette Chan-Tack has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Northeastern University.

Pranathi Diwakar has a 2022 article in Social Forces: “Placing Caste: Spatialization, Urban Segregation, and Musical Boundary Making.” 

Peter Fugiel has accepted a position as National Science Foundation Fellow at Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations.

Reyna Hernandez is a 2022-2023 Pozen Center for Human Rights Doctoral Fellow.

Wan-Zi Lu has accepted a position as Assistant Professor of Sociology at SUNY-Stony Brook.

XY Ma has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Nanyang Technological University.

Johanna Oh has accepted a postdoctoral position as a Mortimer Spiegleman Fellow at the Harvard University Center for Population and Development Studies.

Grey Pierce has accepted a consultant position at Bain & Company. 

Allison Reed has accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Washington University in Saint Louis. She will hold a postdoctoral fellowship there for 2023-2024.

Allison Reed has a 2022 article in Social Science and Medicine: “Mental Health, Availability to Participate in Social Change, and Social Movement Accessibility.”

Allison Reed has a forthcoming article in Mobilization: "Repertoires of Care and Activist Sustainability in U.S. Social Justice Organizing."

Brandon Sward reflected on the Club Q shooting and “Growing Up Queer in Colorado” in High Country News

Nicolás Torres-Echeverry has a 2023 article in Theory & Society: “Social Media, Meet Old Politics: Preservation and Innovation in Colombian Presidential Elections, 2010-2018.”

Kailey White, Betsy Priem, and Professor Geoff Wodtke have a 2022 article in Science Advances: “Concentrated Poverty, Ambient Air Pollution, and Child Cognitive Development.”

Chris Williams received a 2023-2025 ABD/University of Chicago Doctoral Fellowship in Law & Society.

Yuhao Zhuang has accepted a position as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Society and Organizations Institute at HEC Paris.

Matt Borus received the Outstanding Graduate Student Paper award from the ASA Section on Disability and Society for his paper, “Dispersed Organizing Before the Internet: The Case of the Disability Rag.” 

Rebecca Ewert has received the 2021 Best Graduate Paper award from the ASA Section on The Sociology of Mental Health for her paper, “Post-Disaster Masculinity and Mental Health.”

Karlyn Gorski received the SSSP Educational Problems Graduate Student Paper Award for her paper, “You Selling? Snack Sales and the Construction of Deviance in High Schools.” She also received the 2022 Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prize for Excellence in Teaching from the University of Chicago.

Mishal Khan received the ASA Global and Transnational Scholarly Publication Prize for her paper, “Abolition as a Racial Project: Erasures and Racializations on the Borders of British India.”

Austin Kozlowski has received the 2021 Outstanding Article Publication Award from the ASA Mathematical Sociology Section for his paper, co-authored with James Evans and Matt Taddy, "The Geometry of Culture: Analyzing the Meanings of Class through Word Embeddings." 

Wan-Zi Lu was awarded the Theda Skocpol Best Dissertation Award.

Margot Lurie received the Rufus B. Kellogg University Fellowship from Amherst College. 

XY Ma received the ASA Section for Consumers and Consumption student paper award for his article “What Are the Temporal Dynamics of Taste?” 

Nisarg Mehta received the ASA NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Award.

Laila Noureldin received a student research grant from the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion (SSSR).

Johanna Oh received a Poster Award for her paper “Educational Expansion and Stratification in the Informal Market” at the 2022 Population Association of America annual meeting.

Moira O’Shea has received a 2021 Graduate Paper Award from the Midwest Slavic Association for her paper, “We Took the National Game and Turned it into a Sport”: Playing Kok Boru and Re-inventing Tradition in post-Soviet Kyrgyzstan.” She also received the 2021 Best Doctoral Paper in the Social Sciences and the Humanities Award from the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies. 

Betsy Priem received the National Institute of Social Sciences Dissertation Grant Award for 2022. 

Allison Reed received a 2021 Doctoral Dissertation Grant from the Fahs-Beck Foundation for Research and Experimentation.

Yaniv Ron-El received a 2021 Consumer Movement Archives grant from the Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections at Kansas State University, and a research grant from the American Council of Consumer Interests.

Simon Shachter received a Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County Student Collections Study Award.

Eos Trinidad received the ASA NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Award and a dissertation fellowship from the National Academy of Education/Spencer Foundation.

Yuchen Yang has received the 2021 Best Graduate Paper award from the ASA Theory Section for his paper, “What’s Hegemonic about Hegemonic Masculinity? Legitimation and Beyond.” He also received the ASA Sex & Gender Section Distinguished Article Award. 

Yuhao Zhuang received the Social Impact Best Dissertation Prize from the Rustandy Center for Social Sector Innovation.