Students



Pete Aceves
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Social Studies of Knowledge, Social Theory, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Culture
Email: peteaceves

Istvan Adorjan, 2007
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Email: iadorjan@uchicago.edu 

Maria Akchurin, 2007 
Interests: Political Sociology, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Economic Sociology/Globalization
Email: mma@uchicago.edu

Maryam Alemzadeh
Interests: Culture, Social Theory, Social Change, Political Sociology, Sociology of War and Revolutions
Phone: (312) 316-6251
Email: maryamalem

Noah Askin, 2009
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Education
Emailnaskin@uchicago.edu

Nidia Banuelos
Interests: Education, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Historical Sociology
Emailnbanuelos@uchicago.edu

Michael Bare, 2004 
Interests: Social Theory, Social Studies of Knowledge, Culture, Stratification, Microinteraction
Office: 1126 East 59th Street, Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: 214-415-4394
Email: mbare@uchicago.edu

Michael Bishop, 2004
Interests: Education, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology
Email: bishop@uchicago.edu
Websitehttp://home.uchicago.edu/~bishop/

Jessica Borja, 2008 
Interests: Gender, Work/Occupations, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Stratification
Email: jzborja@uchicago.edu

Chad Borkenhagen
Interests: Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Social Studies of Knowledge, Culture, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology
Email: cborkenhagen

Alexandra Brewer
Interests: Culture, Development/Modernization, Gender, Stratification
Email: aebrewer

Kelly Brown, 2005
Interests: Political Sociology, Social Organization/Formal/Complex
Email: klb@uchicago.edu
Websitehttp://www.viewpint-consulting.com

Michael Castelle, 2008
Interests: Social Studies of Knowledge, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Computational Methods, Linguistic Anthropology, History and Philosophy of Technology
Email: mcc@uchicago.edu

Derwin Cheng, 2007
Interests: Culture, Social Studies of Knowledge, Social Theory, Political Theory, Moral Philosophy
Email: derwin@uchicago.edu

Michael Corey, 2008
Interests: Population, Time use, Digital data, Social media
Email: mcorey@uchicago.edu

Christina Coughlin, 1997 
Interests: Education, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Religion
Email: cecoughl@uchicago.edu

Piper Coutinho-Sledge, 2009
Interests: Gender, Health and Medicine, Body and Embodiment
Email: psledge@uchicago.edu

Jan Doering, 2008
Interests: Culture, Political Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Urban Sociology, Microsociology
Email: jdoering@uchicago.edu

Gordon C. C. Douglas, 2006
Interests: Urban Sociology, Culture, Social Theory, Economic Sociology/Globalization
Email: gdouglas@uchicago.edu

Jessica Feldman, 2005
Interests: Urban Sociology, Education, Consumption
Email: jessicaf@uchicago.edu

Anastasia Oldham Fitz
Interests: Urban Sociology, Social Change, Culture, Neighborhoods
Email: afitz

David Ferguson, 2002
Interests: Urban Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Theory, Sociology of the South, Sociology of Knowledge
Email: dferg@uchicago.edu
Master's: Shifting Visibility: Golden Age Sociology of the South Revised

Jamiliyah Foster, 2002
Interests: Urban Sociology, Education, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Juvenile Crime
Master's: Criminology
Email:
 niambi@uchicago.edu

Caterina Fugazzola
Interests: Social Change, Gender, Political Sociology, Social Movements
Email: cfugazzola

Peter J Fugiel, 2010  
Interests: Work/Occupations, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Social Theory, Social Change
 Email: pfugiel@uchicago.edu

Dustin Gourdin, 2010 
Interests: Social Studies of Knowledge, Social Theory, Disasters
Email: dgourdin@uchicago.edu

Christopher Graziul 
Interests: Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Sociology of Religion
Phone: (773) 383-0360
Email: graziul@uchicago.edu

Forest Gregg, 2010 
Interests: Methodology/Mathematical Sociology
Phone: (773)888-2817
Email: fgregg@uchicago.edu

Wendy Greyeyes, 2005
Interests: Development/Modernization, Education, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Political Sociology
Email: greyeyes@uchicago.edu

Laura Hernandez, 2007
Interests: Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Immigration, Social Movements
Email: lah@uchicago.edu

Kathryn Hendricks, 2010 
Interests: Stratification, Gender, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Work/Occupations
Email: kahen@uchicago.edu

Aiko Kojima Hibino 
Interests: Culture, Political Sociology, Food and Diet, Nationalism
Email: aiko@uchicago.edu

Cayce Hughes, 2010 
Interests: Culture, Sociology of Privacy, Urban Poverty, Social Inequality, Health and Well-being
Email: caycehughes@uchicago.edu

James Iveniuk 
Interests: Urban Sociology, Health and Medicine
Office: NORC 266-18
Email: iveniukj@uchicago.edu

Sanja Jagešić
Interests: Education, Stratification, Social Organization/Formal/Complex
Office: SSR 324
Email: sjagesic

Adilia James
Interests: Gender, Work/Occupations, Stratification, Education
Email: adilia

Marshall Jean, 2007 
Interests: Education, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Stratification
Phone:  (773)368-5521
Email: marshalljean@uchicago.edu

Elizabeth Emelene Jefferis, 2002
Interests: Urban Studies and Community, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Culture, Qualitative Methods, Social Change, Human Animal Interaction
Email: eej75@uchicago.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/elizabethjefferisterrien/home
Master's: The Corporate Cult: How Corporations Gain Commitment at the Expense of Families

Whitney Johnson, 2010
Interests: Culture, Quantitative Methods/Mathematical Soc, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Theory
Email:
whitneyjohnson@uchicago.edu

Antoine Jones 
Interests: Political Sociology, Social Theory, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Social Change
Office: Social Science 402
Phone: (773) 257-7377
Email: Antoinej

 

Lesley Kandaras, 2003
Interests: Political Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Education, Development/Modernization, American Indian/Indigenous Peoples Studies
Master's: Constructing and Challenging Political Boundaries: Translocal Politics and Indigenous Self-Determination
Email: kandaras@uchicago.edu

Jerry Kaufman2011 
Interests: Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Stratification, Social Change, Urban Sociology, Religion
Email: jckaufman@uchicago.edu

Melissa Kew, 2002
Interests: Gender, Health and Medicine, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Sexuality
Email: mkew@uchicago.edu

Daniel Kimmel, 2006 
Interests: Education, Social Studies of Knowledge, Social Theory
Email: dkimmel@uchicago.edu

Charles Lee, 2010
Interests: Urban Sociology, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Development/Modernization, Culture
Email: charleslee@uchicago.edu

Cheng-Pang Lee , 2009
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Political Sociology, Culture, Development/Modernization, Religion
Email: cplee@uchicago.edu

Haena Lee, 2010 
Interests: Family, Demography, Health and Medicine, Urban Sociology, Neighborhood Effect
Phone: (312) 405-3223
Email: hannah419@uchicago.edu

Monica Lee, 2006 
Interests: Culture, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Theory, Formal & Computational Methods
Phone: (630) 415-4546
Email: monicalee@uchicago.edu

Naeyun Lee, 2005 
Interests: Political Sociology, Migration, Citizenship, Sociology of Law
Phone: (773) 915-3737
Email: naeyun@uchicago.edu

Jean Yen-chun Lin, 2006
Interests: Social Change, Political Sociology, Urban Sociology, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Movements, Environmental Sociology
Email: jeanlin@uchicago.edu

Le Lin, 2010
Interests: Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Work/Occupations, Social Change, Education, Culture and Knowledge (including Language)
Email: lelin2010@uchicago.edu

Muh-Chung Lin
Interests: Family, Demography, Health and Medicine, Aging
Email: muhchung@uchicago.edu
Master's: The Propensity to Live Alone Revisited: Evidence from 1977 to 1998.

David Lubin 
Interests: Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Stratification
Email: dlubin@uchicago.edu
Website: www.davidlubin.com
Master's: Culture and Economic Power by the Ivory Tower: An Empirical, Theoretical, and Multivariate Analysis of the Impact of Colleges and Universities on their Host Communities

Pau Marí-Klose, 2000 
Interests: Social Change, Political Sociology, Family, Demography, Social Policy
Office: Albasanz 26-28, 2837 Madrid (Spain)
Phone: (34) 91 602 2868
Email: pau@uchicago.edu

Jane McCamant
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Studies of Knowledge, Work/Occupations, Education
Email: jmcc

Peter McMahan
Interests: Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Social Studies of Knowledge
Email: mcmahan@uchicago.edu

Maria Medvedeva, 2002
Interests: International Migration, Immigrant Acculturation/Assimilation, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations
Master's: Social Capital and Individual Freedom in a Russian Jewish Immigrant Community
Email: masha@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~masha/

Marcelle Medford-Lee, 2005
Interests: Urban Sociology, Immigration
Email: mandisa@uchicago.edu

Ben Merriman, 2008
Interests: Social Theory, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Development/Modernization, Culture
Office: Midway Studios, First Floor North
Email: merriman@uchicago.edu

Rick Moore, 2008 
Interests: Culture, Social Theory, Social Studies of Knowledge, Sociology of Religion
Email: rickmoore@uchicago.edu

James Murphy
, 2011 
Interests: Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Culture, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Studies of Knowledge, Economic Sociology, Social Theory
Email: murphyj@uchicago.edu

Abigail Ocobock, 2007 
Interests: Family, Gender, Social Change
Phone: 609-933-7766
Email: aocobock@uchicago.edu

Melissa Osborne, 2013
Interests: Urban Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Stratification, Social Theory
Email: osbornem

B. Robert Owens
Interests: Culture, Social Studies of Knowledge, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Theory, Law
Phone: (617) 308-9082
Email: browens

Jeffrey Parker
Interests: Urban Sociology, Culture, Qualitative Methods
Email: jnparker

Samuel Perry, 2011
Interests: Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Culture, Family, Urban Sociology, Religion
Email: samperry@uchicago.edu

Lauren Pilgrim, 2001
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Work/Occupations, Stratification, Aging and Life Course
Email: pilgrim@uchicago.edu

Maude Pugliese, 2009 
Interests: Culture, Social Studies of Knowledge, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Social Organization/Formal/Complex
Phone: 773 896 3064
Email: mpugliese@uchicago.edu

Jason Radford, 2010 
Interests: Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Political Sociology, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology
Email: jsradford@uchicago.edu

Alicia Riley
Interests: Health and Medicine, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Demography, Urban Sociology
Email: arriley

Benjamin Ross, 2010 
Interests: Urban Sociology, China
Email: benross@uchicago.edu

Cherese Ruffin, 2003
Interests: Family, Violence against women and children, Black feminist theory, Qualitative methods
Email: cruffin@uchicago.edu
Master's: The Media Giveth and the Media Taketh Away: Reconceptualizing the media’s influence on Minority Females’ Perceptions of Rape

Hanisah Binte Abdullah Sani
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Culture, Social Theory, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Southeast Asia, Religion
Email: hanisah

David Schalliol
Interests: Urban Sociology, Stratification, Education, Visual Sociology
Phone: 312.307.9849
Email: dcs

Martina Y. Smith, 2003
Interests: Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Stratification, Gambling/Deference/Status
Email: martina@uchicago.edu
Master's: In None We Trust: The Current State of Mixed-Income Housing in Bronzeville

Suzanne Smith, 2006
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Studies of Knowledge, Development/Modernization, Urban Sociology
Email: smithsm@uchicago.edu

Chris Sukhu, 2010 
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Work/Occupations, Education, Development/Modernization
Email: sukhuc@uchicago.edu

Thomas Swerts, 2008 
Interests: Urban Sociology, Migration, Social Movements, Political Theory
Email: tswerts@uchicago.edu

Eva Swyngedouw, 2009
Interests:  Culture, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Citizenship studies
Email: evaswyngedouw@uchicago.edu

Christopher Takacs
Interests: Education, Stratification, Social Theory, Gender, Higher Education
Email: ctakacs

Nora Taplin, 2009
Interests: Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Sociology of Science and Technology, Environmental Sociology, Mobilities
Email: ntaplin@uchicago.edu

Mikhail "Misha" Teplitskiy
Interests: Social Studies of Knowledge, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology, Computational Social Science
Office: Searle 223
Email: misha

Gawin Tsai, 2007
Interests: Work/Occupations, Social Organization/Formal/Complex, Health and Medicine
Email: gawint@uchicago.edu

Brian Tuohy, 2010 
Interests: Social Theory, Social Change, Culture, Education, Sociology of Religion
Email: btuohy@uchicago.edu

Sjef van Stiphout, 2012 
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Social Studies of Knowledge, Development/Modernization, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology
Email: svanstiphout@uchicago.edu

Amanda Valdez
Interests: Family, Education, Demography, Social Change, Youth
Office: Social Science 406
Email: amanda4

Alicia VandeVusse, 2004 
Interests: Family, Health and Medicine, Gender, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology
Email: ajv@uchicago.edu

Jessica Villasenor, 2011 
Interests:
 Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Urban Sociology, Stratification, Education
Email: jcvillasenor@uchicago.edu

Jaclyn Wong, 2011
Interests: Gender, Family, Demography
Office: NORC 266-22
Email: jaclynw@uchicago.edu

Jolyon Wurr (aka Ticer-Wurr), 1991
Interests: Urban Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Culture, Stratification
Master's: Passing the Torch: Neighborhood Racial Succession
Email: jswurr@uchicago.edu

Wen Xie
Interests: Social Change, Economic Sociology/Globalization, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Studies of Knowledge
Email: wxie

Jin Xu, 2003
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Change, Social Organization/Formal/Complex
Email: xujin@uchicago.edu

Jin Yan, 2010
Interests: Political Sociology, Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Change
Email: yanjin@uchicago.edu

Tal Yifat
Interests: Economic Sociology/Globalization, Social Change, Social Theory, Culture
Email: tal

Yang Zhang, 2008 
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Social Change, Social Theory, Methodology/Mathematical Sociology
Phone: (773)255-8756
Email: yangzhang@uchicago.edu

Yinxian Zhang
Interests: Comparative/Historical/Macro Sociology, Culture, Development/Modernization, Social Change
Email: zyxzhang